I have been told sometimes

Day 7 of 31 days of poetry

Grace Moore
1 min readAug 7, 2021
Photo by Shashank Sahay on Unsplash

to talk more, loosen up, let go
what if you just stopped trying
to control everything, always?
Only God could stop this
hurricane, but I am stacking sandbags
anyways. I am putting wood over
the windows, I am using all my nails
I am waiting until it’s safe to
come out, but it is never safe
and there is never an out.
calm down, relax
If someone held your palm
to a flame, could you relax
your muscles, ease into the heat?
Even as the skin
began to melt?
Or would you fight
with everything you had?

If you like my work, please consider helping me continue by supporting me on Ko-fi. Thank you!

Grace Moore is a writer of poetry, fiction, and nonfiction. Her interests include travel, reading, and doing any activity that involves supplies from the craft store. She lives in Washington with her husband, where they can often be found discussing Doctor Who in-depth. Click here to sign up for her newsletter and get a free guide to overcoming writer’s block.

--

--

Grace Moore

Learning to do this writer thing and sharing as I go. Poetry, CNF, mental health, and too many other interests. Support: ko-fi.com/gracemoore