Autumn

A poem

Grace Moore
1 min readMay 26, 2021
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

The leaves are changing
in a city I once lived in
and I am not there to see it
and there is a time zone I can’t
be in without thinking of someone I once loved
and there are roads I once drove down
with a friend I once held more sacred
than any Bible

and getting older is just realizing
over and over again
that so many loved things
were already gone
before you noticed them leave

and I have never been good at
standing still where I am
and watching the leaves change
instead, I am looking ahead
always wondering
when will this end?

Grace Moore is a writer of poetry, fiction, and nonfiction. Her interests include travel, reading, and doing any activity that involves supplies from the craft store. She lives in Washington with her husband, where they can often be found discussing Doctor Who in-depth. She’s passionate about helping writers find their motivation and unlock their creativity. Follow her on Instagram, sign up for her newsletter, and support her on Ko-fi.

Breaking Through Long-Term Writer’s Block: Click here to get my FREE workbook that helps you get unstuck when you feel like you’ll never write again.

--

--

Grace Moore

Learning to do this writer thing and sharing as I go. Poetry, CNF, mental health, and too many other interests. Support: ko-fi.com/gracemoore